Turkish vegan manti dumplings

Turkish manti can be served as a starter or a snack. I love them so much, I prefer cooking a big portion of it for lunch.

 

This spicy Turkish dish has many flavours to offer, because of the cool yogurt sauce, the spicy tomato sauce and the fresh herbs combined.

 

Here is the recipe.

Manti - A hearty Turkish delight

Variations of manti can be found in many countries around Turkey, but it is mainly known as a Turkish signature dish. This pasta dish is normally non-vegan and stuffed with ground beef. Because of the rising amount of vegetarians and vegans, more and more producers offer meatless alternatives of it. Here I used convenience food, because making my own manti were a little bit too much effort for me. Sorry. Maybe I will some day make my own, hand-made manti for you. Then I'll update this recipe.

 

I found these manti in a Turkish supermarket, and I was surprised to see they offered vegan manti. But they were not marked as such. You may order high quality vegan manti online, too, but they are mostly quite expensive.

Ingredients

  • 1 package vegan manti (about 200 grams for a full portion)
  • 100 grams tomato sauce with a high percentage of tomato paste - check out my recipe!
  • some fresh peppermint leaves
  • some hot bell pepper flakes
  • some dried oregano

For the vegan yogurt sauce

  • try my recipe for vegan Tzaziki. You just need 2 - 3 table spoons

Instructions

  • Cook the manti for not more than 10 minutes in hot boiling water
  • Strain the manti
  • Heat the tomato sauce while you cook the manti
  • Cover the bottom of a deep plate with tomato sauce
  • Put the manti into the plate
  • Spread some yogurt sauce over the manti
  • Spread the spices over the manti
  • Garnish with the mint leaves
  • Serve and enjoy!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0