Coca Verdura

Coca is a Spanish dish inbetween a cake and a pizza, which is popular in many regions in Spain. Traditionally, mostly leftovers were put on the coca as toppings, just like with pizza back in the days in Italy. But coca never uses cheese as a topping.

 

A vegan coca can be topped with many kinds of veggies. You can even create a sweetish coca for dessert. Let's get creative and enjoy!

How the Spaniards say pizza

I had my first coca a a Spanish restaurant a few weeks ago. It was a spontaneous order, when I screened the menu. It was great. I thought, I could do this, too. And so I tried it myself...successfully!

 

Coca can be made with a cake-like dough or a thin pizza-like dough. Especially the vegan versions can be very colourful. Non-vegan versions are more often made with fish than meat. My vegan coca is very yummy. Let's do it!

Ingredients

  • pizza dough - enough to roll it out on a baking tray
  • a small courgette
  • a small eggplant
  • a small bell pepper
  • an onion
  • some olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • a handful of black or green olives
  • 2 - 3 garlic cloves

Instruction

  • Prepare the pizza dough according to my recipe
  • heat the oven up to 220 ° celsius
  • roll out the dough until it fits on a baking tray
  • Cut the veggies into thin slices. Cut the bell pepper into strips
  • Cover the entire dough with the veggies
  • Add some cut or crushed fresh garlic, salt and pepper to taste
  • Put the coca into the hot oven for 15 minutes, until the edges become slightly brown
  • Take the coca out of the oven to cool down for 5 minutes
  • Sprinkle the coca with some olive oil
  • Cut the coca into square pieces and serve
  • ¡Buen provecho!