Vegan Tarka Dal

Tarka Dal - yellow lenitl curry - is a classic vegan dish from the Indian cuisine and very popular. Of course it's one of my absolute favourites. Finally. I learned to cook it very close to the quality I get it served in the restaurant. Today, I share my recipe to you.

 

Vegan Tarka Dal is easy to cook, but it takes some time. You can have it with basmati rice or naan bread. Try yourself to cook it & enjoy!

Easy Indian Yellow lentils recipe

Tarka Daal is one of the simplest dishes in Indian cuisine. I love it very much. It is traditionally vegan. When I test a new Indian restaurant, I normally order simple and basic dishes like Tarka Dal to assess the quality of the kitchen. A chef, that can cook the simplest dishes properly shows his or her capability without any doubt to me. This Indian dish shows, that simplicity is greatness, when it's done perfectly. It took me a couple of years to cook Tarka Dal in a way I was completely satisfied with it, and it was worth the time.

 

You may eat Tarka Dal with basmati rice or naan bread or even both.

Ingredients

  • Half a cup of split yellow lentils
  • Half a cup of (wholegrain) basmati rice
  • a handful of chopped coriander
  • a chili or some chili oil to taste
  • some classical Tarka Dal spice mix
  • some naan bread, if you like

Instructions

  • Wash the rice and the lentils, and let them drip dry.
  • To cook this dish in an elegant way, use two smaller pots. Heat one cup of water in each.
  • Put the lentils and the rice into each pot and let them cook on low heat for 30 minutes. Stir from time to time.
  • Add the spice mix after 15 minutes.
  • Heat or bake the naan bread in the oven.
  • After 30 minutes, put the the basmati rice and the yellow lentils into a classic Indian bowl each to serve.
  • Add some chili or chili oil to taste over the Tarka Dal.
  • Garnish the yellow lentils with the chopped coriander.

If you choose regular basmati rice, the cooking time will be 15 minutes only.

This recipe is good for two persons. It might be suitable for one really hungry person.

Enjoy!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0