Choriatiki - Greek farmer salad rocks my world!

Everyone who ever was in a Greek restaurant knows the Greek farmer salad Choriatiki. Here I present you my recipe of one of my favourite salads ever. καλή όρεξη - enjoy!

My favourite salad from Greece

You get this great salad in every Greek tavern or restaurant, and it's quite popular in the whole world. You'll know the reason when you taste it.

 

Today I love my recipe here more that all the Choriatiki I had when I was eating out, what makes me very proud.

 

Preparing great Choriatiki is in fact quite simple, if you just use best quality ingrediants. Get yourself a big salad bowl and let's get it on!

Originally, Choriatiki is made with 'ordinary' tomatos. If you'd like to do so, take 4 tomatos and quarter them.

 

I prefer cherry tomatos - two hands full - and I cut them into halves. Put them right into the salad bowl.

Cut one red onion into wide stripes and add them into the salad bowl like all the other ingrediants.

Get a handful of black olives and cut them into halves. Good quality olives are not blackened aka coloured. Ask your vendor at the grocery for a sample to try, if you can, to make sure you buy best quality.

 

I purchase my veggies on the farmers market, at a Turkish or any other Southern Europe grocery store or at the organic supermarket.

Cut a big red chili in rings. You may take a green one, too, if you prefer that. I do not use pickeled chilies like it is done in most restaurants. I like it real, hot & fresh.

Cut a small cucumber into slices. Get rid of the ends, because they are said to be bitter.

Cut a good piece of quality feta into dices. The best feta is available at Greek or Turkish groceries. For a vegan version, there is vegan feta available in the supermarket. I personally prefer Greek White from Violife Foods.

Cut a small handful of herbs - preferably parsley - fine to garnish your Greek farmers salad in the end of the making.


Add salt and pepper to taste. Be careful with the salt. The feta already has a lot of saltiness.

A a good quality olive oil. I took 4 big table spoons.

Squeeze one fresh lemon and your salad sauce is complete - simple as that!

After tossing & mixing everything quite well, cover the salad bowl and put it into the fridge for at least a couple of hours or even better overnight.

This is what the salad should look like, when you take it out of the fridge later on.


Greek or Turkish flat bread goes best with Choriatiki. You may cut it into strips or just cut it open to fill it with your salad in gyros style.

The pocket version of Greek farmers salad is very handy when you are about to go out and have a quick meal.

 

Otherwise sit down at the table with friends and enjoy your Choriatiki. This recipe serves 2 or 3 persons.

My wine recommendation


Retsina is a traditional Greek white wine with a hearty taste. For those who prefer red wine, a Kali Gi may suit well. It's a medium-bodied red with low tanins. Both wines are from the Tsantali wine estate - organically grown and vegan. εβίβα - cheers!

 

If you like my vegetarian recipe, please like & share everywhere. Thanks!

 

This blog article contains unpaid advertising.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0