Wild garlic Spätzle alla Genovese

It's time for some fusion food again. Pasta alla Genovese is quite popular...so we need a certain difference in this game...a handsome stranger. I found him in a very special part of Southern Germany: Swabia.

An Italian-Swabian marriage

This time a simple pasta alla pesto Genovese was not enough for me. There is a nice variation to prepare a dish alla Genovese: with diced potatoes and green string beans cut into pieces. So let's get started with our veggies! You need a regular sized potato (one handful) and one handful of string beans.

 


 

Wash both. Peel & dice the potato. Cut off the ends of the beans an cut them into pieces.

 


 

Steam your veggies in the wok for 10 minutes. This is the best way to keep all the nutrients inside your veggies and not outside in the cooking water. 

 

Heat the water for the noodles simutaneously, if you can.

 

 

For the pasta, I chose organic wild garlic Spaetzle. Spaetzle are a local speciality of Swabia. The wild garlic gives them a special twist. I love that!

 

Classic Spaetzle consist of wheat flour, eggs, butter, salt and water. Traditionally the dough is made, cut and cooked immediately afterwards in a big pot in hot salt water. I took about 150 g of them. Those Spätzle are made without eggs, but it was not guaranteed there could be some traces of eggs in them. The typical problem with industrially made food! Yes, there are guaranteed vegan Spätzle out there, you can get in organic supermarkets best.

 


 

I use organic salt only for cooking. The regular stuff from the supermarket is much too aggressive and often mixed with iodine or even fluoride, which is actually poisonous and (is / was) an ingredient of rat poison. 

 

I use a big ceramic pot in my kitchen. Years ago my newly hired MD and I reviewed my first blood test. One of his first sentences was "Get rid of the big chrome pot in your kitchen! Get rid of your teflon pans, too! It really shows in your blood test. I recommend you to use ceramics only for cooking. It's the healthiest way when it comes to cooking dishes." Needless to say, I kept this MD until today. He is a ND (naturopathic doctor), too.  

 

While the noodles are cooking, it's sufficient time to prepare the pesto. How to do it read in my article here. You may prepare a classic basil pesto or any other pesto you might like.

 

Drain the Spätzle after 10 minutes. 

 

 

Coconut oil and butter are the best & healthiest cooking fats by far. This time I chose coconut oil for frying the veggies for just a couple of minutes to give them - especially the potatoes - a little crunchiness.

 

 

The potatoes come in first to relatively high heat. After 3 minutes I add the string beans and turn the heat down low. 

 

 

After altogether 5 minutes the Spätzle join the team. Everything gets stirred on regular basis every 30 seconds within these 5 minutes. 

 

 

When the heat is low, add the classic (vegan) basil pesto and mix up everything for not longer than 30 seconds. Now everything is ready to serve. 

 

 

As I wrote in my pesto recipe, I do not add cheese with the pesto while preparing. I add cheese when serving the pesto dish. So now it's time to get cheesy, if you like.

 

Keep some bread ready at the table. The rest of the pesto remaining on your plate is far too good to throw it away!

 

This recipe is enough for 2 persons or one very hungry person...like me. In winter, when it's cold outside, it's simply perfect. Enjoy!

 

Please like & share! Thanks.

 

This blog article contains unpaid advertising.

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0